Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is generally believed by some professionals that learning a foreign language at primary school is better compared to secondary school. This trend has both merits and demerits. I believe that despite having a few drawbacks, it has been beneficial in numerous ways for students. On the one hand, there are two major advantages of this notion. First and foremost, at a young age, children have a high grasping power due to which they can learn new things in a lesser time. For instance, a four-year-old boy may learn to operate a mobile faster compared to a fifty-year-old lady because of the functionality of the brain. So, if children learn a new language during their primary school days, then they will take less time to learn compared to higher schooling time. Secondly, mastering a foreign language can be beneficial to many students if they plan to settle abroad for job opportunities, since they will be given privilege compare to people who are not aware of the local language. Thus, knowledge of a foreign language can be advantageous in many ways. On the other hand, this development has a few shortcomings. The primary disadvantage of thisapproach is that learning a new language may not be useful for those who do not wish to move to other countries. For example, if a child is learning French during his school days but he chooses to become an IT professional in his own country, then it would not gain any benefit to him in his career. Another drawback is that children do not possess the required decision making skill during their early school days, as compared to secondary school where they can understand their field of interest. To summarize, although there are obvious drawbacks to this given statement, its benefits have clear victory over them because the benefits especially the addition of knowledge and future opportunities in a different country cannot be overlooked. Thus, I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh its disadvantages.