Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that the authorities of the country need to spend more budget on railway development than road infrastructure. Although using the railway is safe and convenient, I am convinced that roads are more significant to use. Looking at the statement in detail, the railway industry is more popular and significant for all countries in today's world. Railways are considered to be common in terms of safety and speed. Moreover, tickets to railways are more affordable for long-distance journeys than other types of transport such as aeroplanes and automobiles. Therefore, the governments should improve the conditions of railways in every part of the country. Looking from a different perspective, road infrastructure is also necessary and sufficient budget should be spent on its development. There are several decent reasons behind the importance of it. Firstly, it is almost impossible to restrict the usage of cars on roads. Private cars, bikes, and cycles are flexible and easy to move in urban centres. If government widen the roads and improves them, car accidents and traffic jams may affect movement less, even in peak hours. Secondly, using vehicles in emergency situations is more comfortable and faster. Therefore, the governments should make main roads better in areas to create better movement for vehicles. In summary, although railways are better in terms of safety and more affordable for long destinations, roads are a significant infrastructure because of their flexibility and usage in emergencies.