Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to gentically modified crops to increase the productions of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Nowadays, there is an increase in the world population, and this leads to massive consumption in many developed countries. The shortage of food is an important concern, and there are many methods in crop development, such as genetically modified crops, to solve this issue. this essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation. Firstly, the development of genetically modified plants can help produce a large scale of food. Using the scientific change in genes provide massive production in one seasonal crop, and for many food producers, this method can provide a huge amount of food to the whole population. For example, scientific technology develops the process of planting potatoes within a shorter period, and another benefit is pest resistance which can save the potatoes in good quality until the harvest season. On the other hand, while genetically modified plants can produce a large amount of food, using this method can be harmful to the environment, and these genetically developed plants can also cause health issues. Not only the genetically modified crop will disturb the environment by attacking non-target organisms, soil and water ecosystems, but also some genetic changes in those plants are insufficient in nutrients that can cause malnutrition for their consumers. For instance, the development of herbicide-tolerance corn has destroyed the habitat of butterflies in North America. Moreover, the research about genetically developed foods may cause toxic effects that lead to abnormal parameters in haematology and immunology. In conclusion, the improvement of genetically modified foods may help in massive production for the increase in the population, although this method still needs to be studied and improved because there are negative effects on the environment and health issues in the future.