Although most people are richer than in the past, modern life seems very stressful and the number of people are suffering from stress is at a record level. What are the main causes of stress in modern life and how stress could be reduced.

There are several reasons why people are suffering from stress nowadays. Problems and its solutions will be mentioned in the following paragraph. This essay elaborates on the reasons for high stress in human lives and possible ways to overcome this state. Firstly, the most common reason is a rise in competition around the world. The rates are increasing every year. This is especially true for the countries with a high standard of living. Secondly, social media and other mainstream television programs create fantasy lives that are hard to achieve in reality. We see people who get everything easily and without visible effort. Additionally, a busy daily routine generates stressful situations too in one's life, while working for long hours one would not spare a time for exercise that creates a physical and emotional burden. However, there are a lot of possible solutions to the problems. At first we need to learn how to get up from the computer and spend time in nature. And then allocate time for an exercise to feel fresh and energetic for a whole day. Another major strategy to uplift the mental status is refusing hustle and bustle. Because it eats up the pleasure of life and destroys our health. We need to slow down and not compare ourselves to other people. In conclusion, today's world results in more stress, albeit the accumulation of wealth. The continuous competition and unrealistic celebrity lifestyles have led our society to mental illnesses and burnout. Nevertheless, living in the moment, and being immersed in nature can resolve these issues.