In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and tv crime dramas?

Genres which are of thriller and action has a growing demand in many countries. Therefore, these crime novels and TV series are becoming famous among the audience. This essay will elaborate the reasons for its popularity, followed by my opinion. Firstly, the twists and turns of the thriller and action keeps our adrenaline flowing, and activate a part of our brain that is normally not stimulated, which creates a feeling that can be very addictive. Thus, leading to a popularity among the audience. Secondly, there is a commercial value in place for this type of genres, therefore a lot of effort is being put into marketing the TV series and novels. Hence, creating its own fan base. Furthermore, the casts in these TV series are performed by well known individuals in the entertainment industry. As a result, these productions are becoming very popular in a short period of time. For an example:- The recent production of a TV series called Citadel by Amazon, has invested around $300 Million, and the revenue estimation is $1 Billion, because its cast by some famous actress and actors in Hollywood. As a result, it has gained a massive popularity among the audience. In my opinion, these genres are exciting sources of entertainment, because it provides an insight into the justice system and the complexity of human behaviour. Moreover, this creates an open platform to discuss the social issues, such as corruption, crime and justice. For an instance:- The Netflix series “Dare Devil” shows how crimes are solved by investigating and bringing the criminals in front of justice. In conclusion, the surge in demand for crime novels and TV crime dramas can be attributed to their ability to attract the audience, while opening a door to comment on how crime is happening in society. Furthermore, these fictions are an important cultural phenomenon that should be embraced and enjoyed for their significant contribution to society.