During the last fifteen years, the use of smartphones has increased dramatically, making it possible to contact others almost anywhere and at anytime.Do the advantages of smartphones outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a significant growth in the smartphone usage in the past fifteen years, and people now tend to rely on their convenience. However, some individuals also point out the numerous negative problems imposed to our society. I think the main advantage of smartphones is it added color for our lives. People who lived before the invention of smartphones tended to experience repetitive daily routine. They walked in the same streets, did the same work, and saw the identical scenery. Thanks to smartphones, people now can explore various types of artwork, and listen to the lastest releases of their favorite singers, even if they are foreigners. Additionally, people can stay updated news from thousands miles away, such as the war situation between Ukarine and Russia or the bankrupty of the American banks. Futhermore, smartphones facilitate easy communication between individuals. Regardless of living in different countries, we can see each other through video calls or connect through social media, allowing those studying aboard or working overseas can still stay in touch with their friends and family. Despite numerous advantages of smartphones, we cannot ignore the drawbacks associated with it. Firstly, flashing advertisements on Youtube vedio encourge children to implusively impulsive purchasing, and parents who are unable to control the situations may simply give in to their demand. As a result, children cannot develop the ability to live without materialistic joys. Secondly, smartphones can threat our mental and physical health. Researchs Research have shown that a heavy smartphone usage increase the risks of nearsightedness and obesity,which is the one of the culprit to heart disease and diabetes. Furthermore, achieving to work-life balance is more challenging, as the bossess and the customers can easily contact you through the cellphones. Nonetheless, in my opinion, most of the drawbacks associated with smartphones can be soled. For example, we can switch to the "do not disrupt" mode after work. However, the benefits of smartphones are difficult to replace. Therefore, I still believe it is a valuable tool in our society.