It is seen that older adults are not given enough respect and facilities in many countries. What could be reason for this? What are the effects of this?

Undoubtedly, in most countries after a certain age particularly in the 60s, folks do not feel respected as much as at their young age and the facilities provided to them are not enough. Several reasons are responsible for this and it has various effects on everyone's lives. The provision of less respect and fewer facilities is due to many reasons. One prime reason is that the focus is always on the young ones whether in a family, society or nationwide. Countries always try to assist youngsters as they are the future of a nation, so governments spend most of the funds on young aged people and not on the elderly community who are left with no skills for the future. For instance, in an analysis of budgets of many countries, it has been found that elders are getting the least portion of the funds and are provided with the minimum facilities as compared to other age groups. Secondly, in families, elderly people never get a chance to take decisions on behalf of the whole family and their kids do not find their advice useful because they think of themselves as smarter. Bias on the basis of age is not fair as it has undesirable effects. Senior citizens spent their whole life working for a nation and making money for their kids and they deserve to be treated with respect and all the amenities to lead a comfortable life. Firstly, a lack of these might make them feel depressed, lonely and inferior which could result in bad physical and mental health. As a result, older individuals would need medical health that could affect a family's and a country's economy altogether. Hence, they should be taken care of perfectly. For example, retirement facilities that are fully funded by authorities take a big amount as they need basic arrangements and caretakers. If elders are not respected they could start leaving their houses and can move towards old age houses and as a consequence government will have to build more of these to cater for everyone which will put a burden on the economy. In conclusion, old individuals should be admired and everyone should take responsibility to give them all comforts as the absence of these has unfavourable consequences.