Some people think that it's a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Other people think it’s important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

To some people, the ones we meet at work are not only colleagues but also could be friends, therefore it is a good idea to socialise with them and the friendship made with our work partner could yield positive results. There is another point of view, however, a view that recognizes them as only the people we work with. On one hand, it is foolish to say spending time with colleagues outside the work hours has no merits at all. Of course, it could lead to a more friendly and more enjoyable environment and because of that it could make communication easier and help the overall atmosphere of the office. For instance, a working environment in which everyone could seamlessly communicate with each other would get things done much quicker than any other. On the other hand, while it is true that people normally get along well, forcing them to socialise may result in unwanted drama. In addition to that, in order for a group of people to function properly they should maintain boundaries and professionalism which could be damaged if they were to spend a lot of time together. Furthermore, it is a well known fact that work -life should not bleed into the personal life. For example, when one can not differentiate between work and personal life as a result of spending all of their time with just one group of people, they are surely going to be less productive. To conclude, in my view, there is a balance that needs to be reached here. I think, although socialising with partners is important because it has the potential to better the work environment it also has its downsides and should be kept at minimum so it would not interfere with personal time.