Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, humans are monitored in every aspect through advanced technologies like mobile tracking devices and night vision camera. Although these inventions main purpose was to focus on people security, some feel that they have lost their personal space. I believe the positives of this advancement has more weightage than its negatives. To begin with, the rate at which the crimes are being solved nowadays using these technology is quite surprising. In addition, security departments state that ninety percentage of child trafficking cases are seemingly solved with the assist of the live cameras in all possible highways and streets of cities and towns. To illustrate, a 10 years old girl in my community was recently kidnapped, on her way back to home from school. The officer who was investigating this case were able to track down the vehicle, the criminals were driving within 6 hours by looking at the security cameras outside the child school campus. In my view, the government should encourage its citizens to enable live cameras on every lane for their own security. In addition, the government is having a separate department to monitor nation threatening phone calls, so that they can stop a catastrophic event beforehand. For example, In India there was a recent bomb threat that was about to occur in Mumbai. However the daily news stating that the investigation officers were able to get an insight about this unpleasant event, that was about to occur while they were monitoring few suspicious calls. This eventually helped them to give the concerned officials an heads up, thus preventing such catastrophic event from happening. In conclusion, the security related technological advancement has significant importance globally, eventually providing a sense of safety for its people. Government can create awareness of the benefits of these technologies to its citizens, so that few might come out of the notion that their privacy is being invaded.