Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison, instead some criminals should do unpaid work in the community. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, prisons in most countries are overcrowded, and thus some experts propose that criminals should be encouraged to work in the local community without being paid rather than being locked in jails. I completely agree with this proposal because it can save tax expenditures and provide prisoners with chances of boosting their social skills. Keeping offenders in prisons is wasting taxpayers' money. Criminals, after being sent to prison, usually lead a boring life. For instance, they do nothing every day except for eating, sleeping, and talking with other offenders, contributing nothing to society. However, all citizens are required to pay taxes for their accommodation, salaries of prison guards, and the cost of building prisons. If they were able to do unpaid jobs in the community, they would not only contribute to the local economy but also alleviate taxpayers' economic pressure. A second major reason why prisoners should work outside of prison is that they would benefit from learning knowledge and social skills, such as communication skills. After they are released from prison, they need to find new jobs. But if they were kept in prison for so many years, they would not be capable of adapting to the new environment. For example, criminals who were sent to prisons in the last century would not have access to the internet, leading to great difficulty for them to find jobs. In contrast, by encouraging offenders to spend time in the community, they can keep learning new knowledge, get in touch with new technology, and communicate with residents. Therefore, these experiences have various positive impacts on criminals. In conclusion, I strongly believe prisoners should work in a community for free instead of being locked in prisons without doing any meaningful things since it would benefit both criminals and society. By providing criminals with working opportunities, an inclusive and dynamic society can be expected.