Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For certain working cultures, prolonged work schedules are more likely to be proportional to economic career accomplishment in the market, while others believe that such a system may bring an adverse impact on employees' social performances. I partially agree with this notion. On the one hand, some individuals believe that extended working hours can lead to increased productivity and economic growth within an organisation. Long average working length means workers are required to devote more time to work on their assigned tasks, instead of spending time on other non-work related activities. For example, a consistent focus on a particular project or assignment has the potential to come up with novel approaches to current obstacles by investing an adequate amount of hard work and effort. This is particularly the case for industries such as technology and manufacturing. Such a working strategy allows companies to remain vigilant and competitive in the fast-paced global market. On the other hand, excessive working hours can have detrimental social implications. The long working duration can impose a strain on individuals' health conditions. For instance, it can lead to burnout, increased stress levels and a decline in physical and mental well-being when employees are under a stressful atmosphere for a certain period of time. This may also hinder creativity, innovation and employee engagement, ultimately affecting long-term economic sustainability. Moreover, workers may suffer from a dropped cognitive function that can be counterproductive to their professional performance. Consequently, overtime overload can result in undesirable social outcomes for workers. In a nutshell, although working long hours may be associated with strong financial performance, the mental and physical damage caused to an individual would be harmful and irreversible which could lead to decreased general productivity for the company. Therefore, I think it is vitally important to impart and develop a working culture that encourages a work-life balance style, and the government, as well as the authorities, should implement policies that prioritize the overall welfare of their citizens, ensuring that economic success is accompanied by a high quality of life, personal fulfilment, and social cohesion.