Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that the intake of excessive amounts of sugar -based products leads to a series of physical issues, such as obesity. Due to this fact, some argue that the price of sugar products should become prohibited in order to discourage people from purchasing too much sweet food. From my perspective, this opinion is impractical. This essay aims to explain why I’m against this idea from the aspects of marketing and individual needs. Simply improving the charge of sugar -related products will adversely impact essential products and eventually lower the living quality of people. This is because sugar is an essential need in our life, and we can find it in diverse kinds of goods’ ingredients. For example, in the kitchen, many types of cooking sources contain sugar, like soy sauce, rice, and honey. If these essential sugary products become pricy, then the public may not be able to afford them. Therefore, due to the vast use of sugar in our lives, it is unreasonable to higher the prices of sugary goods. Meanwhile, when sugary products become expensive, those people who need sugar to maintain their health might encounter difficulties. For example, some person relies on intaking enough chocolates or candies to make sure their blood sugar is on a standard level. When they find these sweet snacks become over-priced, they may need to figure out how to afford those products, which may cause extra burden on these people. In addition, health-related products sometimes contain sugar as well. When the price of sugar is way too high, the medical manufacturers may consider taking off the sugar from the ingredients, causing the patients difficulty swallowing or digesting those bitter taste pills. Hence, based on individual needs being different, it is clear that making sugary goods more expensive will harm a group of the population. To conclude, simply higher the charge for sweetness-based foods may prevent people from overly shopping for snacks, but it is also vital to acknowledge that sugary products include a vast range of goods, including our basic needs, and it may be essential for certain groups.