Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that money should be spent developing railways rather than roads by Governments. I partially agree with such a point of view because even though railways are paramount to enable several types of products transportation between cities, roads are also crucial to improve traffic jams in Metropolis. On the one hand, transporting products using trains may be more affordable for some countries, because this type of transportation requires less maintenance and less fuel consumption than other means of vehicles such as trucks, planes or cars. As a consequence, such an economy will certainly reflect in the products ' prices. For instance, it is estimated that, since railways were constructed in India for product transportation in 2015, citizens have been experiencing a significant decrease in the price of basic products such as rice and bean, which results in more economy saving by citizens. On the other hand, choosing to construct roads by Governments can bring several benefits for citizens not only because it allows different types of transportation but also it improves traffic quality faced in city centres, as this enables more effective vehicles locomotion between different cities. Consequently, such construction may allow people and products transportation to get around easily. For example, it is believed that 4 cities in São Paulo experienced a more fluid use of their time when they are driving since the construction of two new roads between these cities, which leads to effective time management in the citizens ' lives. To conclude, even though railways can be effective to improve means of transportation roads are also efficient to allow such distribution. However, such initiative needs to be made individually, by each Government, as they are aware of the real financial resource of the city that they are responsible for.