Some cities create housing for growing populations by building taller buildings while other cities have opted to build on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

With the increasing population in urban areas, many cities have opted for either developing vertical housing or horizontal housing. I do not think there is a one-size-fits-all solution, and it depends on the city. On the one hand, the vertical development style's primary role is to provide more accommodation to house more people. In this way, the vertical option will reduce the average rent and house prices. As we can see, it is most suitable for densely populated cities like New York, Hong Kong, or Ho Chi Minh City. Furthermore, a taller building has the benefit of serving convenience and a sense of community. Most apartments are pre-furnished, near convenient stores, as well as have security systems and reception operations. Therefore, these features make life in them comfortable. For example, some residential buildings even have Facebook groups to connect residents friendly by letting their kids hang out with each other. On the other hand, a horizontal development style, which means building on vast land space, still has its merits, which are more suitable for cities with decentralized residents. Where the citizens are not clumping up near the central areas but are somewhat scattered in the outskirts, there will have lower land prices due to availability. A benefit of living here is that there is more privacy since there will not be as many neighbours as there are in vertical blocks. Another advantage is that children will have healthier space to study and play when their houses have a backyard or a garden. Thus, it is essential to a child's development because they tend to be more active and nature-loving. In conclusion, vertical and horizontal construction effectively accommodates the population beyond their benefits. The way a city should follow depends on how the population is distributed.