Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual asessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Together with the rise of various teaching methods, people are increasingly concerned that which method can help to evaluate more precisely a student's academic performance. While some believe the only way should undoubtedly remain the formal examinations, others assume that coursework and projects may also be an edible way. I agree that term exams may be irreplaceable, but those continual assessments are worth taking an evaluation. Firstly, even though school examinations for the courses directly enable the grown-ups to find out whether the school attendants have received and remembered all the knowledge having been taught. This kind of check is at a rather primary extent, as most of the examinations were designed to test if the students have recited everything in mind; though there may include the existence of practical exercises, admittedly, the majority of them have a fixed format to remember. Asian education form is typical for this, and it is enough for the part of the school to fully grade one's performance. While it aids the learners to set a firm foundation for theological knowledge, there is no evidence that students will be able to apply it perfectly in reality which is the main purpose of education. Secondly, talking about coursework and projects, in fact, they could serve as effective methods of evaluation to compensate for the lacking practical tests of the old form of education. It is conspicuous that having a project to be accomplished will require the learners to search for and affirm the authenticity of their information all on their own. This means that they have to first be familiar with basic knowledge gained from school lessons so that they will be able to know whether the one they found is correct. Basically, this process helps them reinforce the original they have and allows them to obtain more outside the class, but, at the same time, assure their teachers that they know how to bring those pieces of knowledge into practical use. A good project itself means both the students' proficiency in their courses and their active attitudes toward learning. In conclusion, I believe to have a complete evaluation of academic performance, both the traditional and the innovative ways are inevitable. The adaptation of these two methods simultaneously is necessary.