Some people think painting and drawings are important as other subjects. They should be compulsory in high school education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, painting and drawings have become quite popular among students. However, there is a contention over whether painting and drawing should be compulsory subjects in high school education. I believe that learning painting and drawing would develop a range of skills which are essential for students and also help to alleviate stress and improve mental health. Teaching artistic subjects at high school offers numerous merits to students. Not only does it enhance their critical thinking skills, but it also teaches them how to apply their imagination to real-life situations. While other subjects may be more challenging than painting or drawing, children tend to grasp them quite easily. By allowing them to focus on their artistic skills, they might even develop into professional artists. For example, research published in 'The Journal', in 2023, stated that children who were getting trained for drawing were able to provide a better innovative idea for a real-world problem. Thus, such subjects will help an individual inculcate such skills. The more classes in painting and drawing that students have in high school, the greater the opportunity to showcase their skills and talents. Another significant point is painting and drawings can help students to alleviate stress and improve their mental health. Interestingly, Arts education can alleviate stress and reduce anxiety by providing them with a creative outlet and by helping them to de- stress and relax. For instance, an article released in 'The Hindu', in 2024, mentioned that when a person is working on something that he loves, like creating an art, sketch, or craft, which makes the cerebrum (the Brain's front part) releases dopamine which helps to reduce anxiety and stress. Moreover, it can create a sense of purpose and belonging by developing a state of mental well-being. In conclusion, I would argue that painting and drawing should be compulsory at high school because this will develop a range of skills and talents of students while enhancing their mental well-being and reducing stress levels.