Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions about whether the state should provide access to higher schooling for all students, regardless of their financial capabilities. I completely agree with this idea, because I believe education is the only way to achieve a greater society. There are several reasons why the government should ensure access to universities for all populations. Firstly, there is ample evidence to suggest that this could have a positive impact on the economy in the long term. This is because, for instance, having a society with higher education levels can expand the interest of foreign investment capital in the country. Secondly, it is undeniable that the lack of job opportunities is one of the most challenging issues of our time. Therefore we need a population with better qualifications, who can be able to compete in the highly demanding employment market we have these days. Furthermore, the state should take into consideration the impact on the quality of society beyond economics. For example, higher education gives students much more than specific knowledge about the subject they are studying. In the university, students acquire a diverse set of tools and skills they can apply to solve daily problems. In addition, people with superior levels of study tend to be open-minded. This is an invaluable resource for our society in times when conflict and intolerance prevail. In conclusion, having a population with high levels of schooling will result in a better economy and in a prosperous society. Therefore I strongly believe that the state should make access to universities complimentary for all students regardless of what economic background they have.