Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual asessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Assessing student's academic capabilities is one of the most imperative aspects and formal exam play a vital role in this. Additionally, people suggested that coursework and projects are not necessary for such assessments. However, it is disagreed that only one final exam could evaluate the child's progress. Analysing the problems with such a formal system and the contribution of practical learning from the project will prove this. To begin with, it is quite an arduous task for the teacher to keep track of student's learning progress and it would be obviously impossible for them to justify their final grades. For example, in developing countries like India due to this education,system most talented pupils fail their exams due to unexpected circumstances. Furthermore, they get under immense stress from the workload and eventually either drop out or perform poorly. Thus, it is clear that one exam system can not determine the actual potential of the talent. Additionally, learning while working on a small project helps the student to understand the practical application of the matter and it gets imprinted in their young minds. To exemplify, my niece was working on a hydro project a couple of a year ago but,, lately when I asked her about it, without a doubt she was able to explain it to me in detail. In addition to that she mentioned that she is going to become an engineer and that project was the main contributor to making this decision. Hence, it can be proven from real-life examples that projects are not just used to grade but can shape the future of young minds. In conclusion, it could be said with the aforementioned reasons that it will be unjust to access young talent with just a formal exam. Thus, it is imperative to enforce practical projects and continuous coursework in academics. It is also suggested that students should be given a chance to experience live learning by taking them on excursions and scientific exhibitions annually.