Some people think that wearing a uniform at work is essential whereas others think that it is unnecessary. Present your views on both sides of the argument.

There is no doubt that uniforms have widely been used worldwide for certain professions, such as pilots. While many people argue that uniforms are pointless, others argue that this tradition is important for the working environment. In this essay, I will present both sides of this topic. On the one hand, an obvious advantage of mandatory uniforms is that employees can be easily identified by customers and clients. This is because specific outfits can normally highlight a person from another, providing information about their function and position in the workspace. For instance, when someone enters an aircraft before departure, it is extremely simple to identify who is the pilot and who are the other members of the crew. Therefore, the greatest advantage of uniforms is that employees can have their function easily identified only by their clothes. On the other hand, wearing uniforms can often be uncomfortable for those who must wear them daily. This happens because the employer who defines the outfit only cares about the company’s image, usually trying to follow traditions. In other words, companies are not willing to change or modernize uniform models. For example, sometimes the temperature is extremely hot and pilots must keep their uniforms completely, which is a totally uncomfortable situation, given that the outfit is extremely heavy. As a result, they may become really annoyed and disturbed, which can affect their work performance. In conclusion, despite the benefits that wearing uniforms at work can offer, the drawbacks of this condition, such as the potential negative impact on the employee’s performance, should also be taken into consideration.