Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due to unprecedented technology and globalization, people can access foreign-made products within their country without the need to travel. I believe this trend brings more negative results rather than positives which will be discussed later in the essays. Most consumers prefer to use imported goods rather than local products. Improved international logistics and lesser trade barriers present people with multiples products options from different countries and people have little interest in their own domestic products. As a result, the role of cultural and domestic products and people who make a living out of producing those become less important. To illustrate, fewer people in China wear Cheongsam and Changshan due to the arrival of international clothing brands. Young Chinese these days know the process of making traditional clothes and people making them become jobless and switch to other jobs. Therefore, the ability to purchase similar products has a negative impact on the country ’s culture and identity. Similarly, the availability of more and more of the same products as other nations can cause a deficit in the income of the country. First, foreigners don’t need to travel to a particular country to enjoy and purchase local cuisine and products as they can easily have them in their country, consequently, the tourism industry will suffer. For example, we don't need to go to Thailand to enjoy Thai papaya salad as there are a lot of Thai cuisine shops opening everywhere. Second, large conglomerates are opening branches all over the world and many local businesses face a shrinking in the size of market share as they can’t compete with foreign companies in terms of economies of scale. Many local businesses suffer from price competition and become bankrupt. To conclude, the country can face destruction due to the availability of similar products from other countries and the government should introduce measures to protect from those happenings.