Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual asessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

No doubt that past exams are an effective way to practice and to assess student's level and performance. However, a group of teachers is convinced about this method, while others would support that this is not the only way we can use to get this approach. I believe that there are alternative forms of teaching and assessing student's performance. In the following essay, I am going to elaborate on my point of view with relevant examples. Firstly, the importance of formal examinations to assess students is to show tutors the real level as well as points of strength and weakness of their students. As a result, they would have the ability to practice more clearly in the parts they really need. For example, former IELTS exams will make instructors evaluate the candidates successfully. Moreover, candidates would figure out their real level by getting such tests. Additionally, former tests would included some tricks and techniques which students need to be familiar with. Besides, teachers can assess and teach using these experience. On the other hand, continual asessment and courses are effective methods for evaluation. While formal examinations are essential to get knowing the form of the test, sometimes it gets outdated. Hence, we need to have continual courses to be ready for any type of exam. For example, doctors in my college are keen to make their exams unexpected, thus graduates need continuous study and dedicated work to achieve this. Finally, projects methods are highly recommended by education experts to assess student's performance especially those who panic about exams. In conclusion, we should consider continual asessment such as course work and projects as effective ways and satisfactory practice