People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is a widespread disagreement on the issue of whether taxes should be eliminated or not. While some argue that it is their civil right to save all their income without a fraction of tax, I strongly agree that it is all human’s responsibility to pay taxes to the government. The reasons for this are as follows. I believe that the strongest argument in favour of this issue is enhanced living quality. Of course, at first glance paying taxes seems to be unfair, however, taxes are one of the main sources of funds for governments to increase facilities and amenities in the whole country. A salient example of this is constructing new roads or highways, increasing green spaces and parks and equipping hospitals which impose significant expenses on governments and without such taxes fulfilling these projects would be impossible. Thus, if people desire an advanced life, the obligation to pay taxes is inevitable. Secondly and even more importantly, though, is that of a balanced society. Since the tax payment system is based on the level of income, families with higher incomes pay more money and vice versa. Continuing this approach paves the way to enjoy the facilities and amenities for indigent families same as the affluent people. Hence, rather than having a selfish attitude toward paying tax, considering it as our humanitarian responsibility is advisable. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that although some reckon paying taxes unjustified, it is the cost of living in a sustainable society. I believe that holding educational campaigns and informing individuals of the long-term benefits of paying taxes is justified.