Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Currently, technological devices have become widely popular in societies, especially among youngsters. Many people believe that there are many benefits because of their functions and utilities, however, reliance on technology is a threat to our growth as human beings. For this reason, I staunchly believe that cutting-edge technologies should be carefully used, and their widespread implementation has many drawbacks. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To start with, it is clear that since computers and other types of gadgets have been created, people spend most of their time on social media. Then, not only social skills but also interpersonal communication has decreased dramatically. This means that humankind has replaced their traditional activities, such as sharing high-quality time with their families, reading, etc. Therefore, people tend to be more isolated leading to more prevalence of mental diseases, exemplified by depression, anxiety, bipolarity, etc. Additionally, the addiction rate to smartphones has exponentially increased, and the population uses those devices during the whole day. As a consequence of this, sedentarism is becoming more frequent as well as the prevalence of chronic diseases with higher cardiovascular risk. For example, The American Heart Association recently published that the obesity proportion has climbed by 30% due to a lack of physical activity. Besides, sleep hygiene is not employed because phones are used almost overnight. To sum up, technology should be restricted in communities, mainly in children and adolescents owing to their addiction risk. Besides, ancient costumes and social behaviours should not be replaced by the usage of innovative technologies.