In many part of the world, there are now multi-generational households, e.g. where grandparents live with parents and children, than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In this era and age, a new trend is coming, which is the creation of new multi-generational households. I personally think that this kind of living is a positive development, especially for families. This kind of household is positive because it permits the creation of a close relationship between the relatives, leading to a lovely familiar situation. This essay analyses the reasons that have brought to this trend such as the help that grandparents can give to the family or the possibility in some parts of the world of building or buying an entire new home with less expenditure. First of all, one of the main reasons is that people inside the family such as grandparents can give enormous help to the parents. For example, if we think about the pandemia by Covid-19, those who had the possibility to use grandparents as babysitters had an extremely positive help in terms of costs and social problems such as the possibility for children to stay with their grandparents and for the parents to not be absent from work. In addition, another reason that is pushing this new habit is the possibility, in some places, to create or buy new buildings with costs that are more affordable than apartments in cities. For instance, in the southern part of Italy in areas such as suburbs and villages the vast part of the buildings are owned and lived by the same family indeed, in these areas houses are cheaper than the ones in city zones. To conclude, buildings owned by the same family can exist only in determinate areas with specific conditions. Furthermore, they can also be considered as a positive development due to creating a close, lovely and efficient environment based on mutual help.