Today’s fresh food like vegetables or fruits travels thousands of miles from the rural areas or farms before it reaches customers in cities or urban areas. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend? Write at least250 words.

It is said that nowadays crops like vegetables and fruits are travelled a long distance from countries to purchasers in towns or cities. The reason is that all fresh food are collected from different areas. I think this is a negative development because fresh food might lose its quality and affect the environment. The cause of a long distance travelling fresh food is that people take time to collect their crops. This is because they not only grow them in a rural place but also in many different areas, so farmers have to go to each farmland and gather their crops. Therefore, they might spend much time before reaching their consumers. I feel that it may affect the quality of crops if farmers have to spend more time on transport. The nature of fresh vegetables and fruits can be good within a limited time. For instance, strawberry is a sensitive fruit and requires much effort. If farmers were careless about this problem, it could destroy before arriving customers. In addition, it can affect the environment along the way. Farmers might use cars or other means of transport, so the carbon released from those transports can lead to air pollution. It is not only bad for our breath but also pollutes the air. In conclusion, the reason for this trend is that farmers need to travel from one place to another for harvesting and transporting their crops. I believe this is a negative development as that food might lose its quality and nutrients, and it can lead to air pollution.