Today, many people do not know their neighbours. Why is this? What can be done about this?

It is clear that these days a number of individuals do not know their neighbours. Generally speaking, there are many underlying reasons for this trend, which can be addressed in several ways. To begin with, one of the main reasons can be that many populations live in urban areas which make them too busy to know each other. That is because having tight and very difficult schedules led to them not looking around. Also, a huge number of crimes rapidly rise nowadays. Thus, people avoid contact with strangers because they want to be safe. This tendency makes people feel isolated and causes deteriorated social skills. For instance, In South Korea an old woman died in her apartment but her body was only discovered after 2 weeks because of the smell. At the same time, I believe that the government campaigns can play an important role in enhancing social skills among citizens. For example, in marathon competitors do not know each other but they will get a chance to know each other if they participate together. Another solution is organising regular social events in the apartment. Then, residents get more chances to see and mingle with each other. Last but not least, the media encourage individuals to have small talk with their neighbours by showing them in local TV shows and movies. In conclusion, when people live in busy cities they often don’t know their neighbours, leading to isolation. However, government campaigns and social events can help bring people together and build stronger community bonds.