Many believe that the best way to ensure a happier society is to reduce the difference in income earnings between the rich and poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Happiness is generally equated with feeling content. It is a common notion that the elimination of the disparity of revenues will lead to a more joyous community. I extensively agree with this thought, and I will elaborate on my reasons for the same. Firstly, there is a large gap in the incomes of the wealthy and the poor. This gap is unhealthy for the neighbourhood, as it drives a wedge between these classes. The nature of the circumstances of one's birth is not under their control, whether one is born in an affluent family or a poverty-stricken one. This often leads to jealousy as it is native thought, that it is us who deserved the privilege and not the other. This bitterness, if diminished, might lead to a more content fraternity. For example, children who attend private schools in the United States, are twice as likely to be attacked by students who attend public schools than young ones in their own institute. Secondly, the impoverished section of our society struggles to make ends, while the upper class wastes money on their lavish lifestyles. Moreover, it is common for essential resources like food, to be wasted in fancy households. Because of this, it might be a necessary move to cut the monetary gap between the various economical classes. This move may, in turn, lead to a well-fed clan which would result in a better mood for them. For instance, in the UK, five tonnes of food is wasted annually by the high society, while only a ton of food is wasted by the folks below the poverty line. In comparison, by the number of people, the commodity loss by the rich is 500 times that of the lower classes. In conclusion, the move to bring an overall deficit between the finances of all classes is a welcome one. This might bring forth an era where everyone has their necessities met, while also resulting in a more cheerful society.