Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Identifying and resolving criminal cases became much more efficient with the advent of new technologies that enable gathering a greater amount of valuable information. These include fingerprint detection, face detection and other biometric identification means, but also modern cameras and large databases of information about people. Although some may claim that criminals will find ways around those technologies, I would argue that technological advances will highly facilitate the process of deterring crimes and identifying criminals. Contemporary tools that help in fighting against crime have already proved their effectiveness. In the past, police and detectives only had access to primitive equipment, and the sources of information were mostly victims and witnesses. With the lack of such tools as a camera, fingerprint detection and computer, they had to put a lot more effort to identify criminals compared to today, and even a deep investigation did not guarantee accurate results. In contrast, nowadays, performing crime became a much more risky job, and the chances of being caught are high. Policemen have access to a broad range of information resources, ranging from camera records to fingerprint identification tools. Besides their contributions to detecting offences, such advancements also help to maintain criminal cases low. On the contrary, contemporary technology can be utilized for performing offences as effectively as it is used for preventing them. For example, offenders can employ spying gadgets to sneak into governmental institutions or use hacking software to break bank accounts. However, this does not mean that technological advancements are doing more harm than good. After all, global criminal rates have significantly dropped in the past two decades, which is mainly due to these innovations. To conclude, recent technological innovations have undoubtedly made it simpler to combat crime, and will continue proving their effectiveness in doing so in the future.