People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion

Over the past decade, pollution has become a prevalent and publicly recognized phenomenon. Although raising the price of petrol has many positive ramifications, it is not without drawbacks. While I consider that this might be an effective measure, I would argue that many measures have a greater impact. On the one hand, there are some reasons why I agree that national and local authorities should increase the cost of fuel. Firstly, private cars would limit the number and length of their journeys. A large number of low and middle-income earners are not able to afford the increases in the cost of petrol, therefore they are forced to adapt to other means of transport such as bus, bicycle, walking or train. Moreover, the extra money, which is collected from increasing fuel prices, can be used in order to improve public transport. Secondly, when governments increase the cost of fuel, more goods can be transported by rail rather than by truck. On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I believe that governments could adopt policies which would be more effective. The first measure is to invest money in developing eco-friendly means of transport. For instance, more cities should follow the example of London and introduce a congestion charge in order to ease traffic flow in the city centre. Moreover, introducing free buses and trains increases the use of public transport, which would help in the effort to combat global warming In conclusion, while some maintain that a sharp rise in petrol prices would be a useful environmentally friendly transportation measure, in the long term other steps would be effective.