Crime is a big problem in the world, and nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

In the modern era, Criminal offences are increasing day by day. Thus, many people believe that there is nothing that can be done to prevent these crimes or to lower crime rates. This notion should be seen as completely wrong and there are various actions that we can do to prevent it such as increasing the alertness of possible offences and ensuring proper schooling is being provided to the community. To commence with, Ensuring mandatory education for society is the key step to the prevention of crimes. To elaborate, literacy is a skill that provides, a person, with a clear understanding of what is right and what is wrong. Generally, uneducated people have a large contribution to increasing crime rates. For example, In a recent report issued by the Crime Branch of India, they mentioned that crime rates are inversely proportional to literacy rates. What it means is that in states, where the literacy rate is very high, the crime rates there are very low, and vice-versa in states with low literacy rates. Furthermore, increasing consciousness towards potential crimes can also be done in order to prevent crime. Again, alertness also plays a great role in crime prevention as it gives a person some basic understanding of what is wrong and what is right for society. Moreover, the public only considers serious offences such as murders or bribing as crimes; however, they often neglect some crimes that they think aren't big crimes such as not following traffic rules, or verbally abusing someone and those crimes also count in increasing crime rates. To illustrate it with a case scenario, if a person knows about all the possible crimes that he can face in his life, he will not become a victim of those crimes and don't unintentionally do those crimes. To conclude, a high crime rate is not something that can not be tackled, with the help of some schooling and by having basic awareness, one can easily handle this ongoing trend. I opine that basic education and awareness campaigns should be done in areas of high crime rates and low literacy rates, in order to reduce criminal offences.