Some people think that family has the most powerful influence on a child’s development, while others think that other factors such as television, friend, music have the biggest effects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Although some people believe in the role of family as the main key in a child's upbringing, others assume there are other factors affecting this development process such as media or friends. I believe both of these elements play their parts effectively in a child's development. this essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, family is the prime influencer on a child's life. From the beginning of their birth, parents can overwatch almost all the attitudes a child indicates and can either foster good behaviours or hinder them. For instance, the time when a baby starts babbling and miming others' words and parents can just confirm what they say is polite or impolite. Moreover, research on Iranian 7-year-old children revealed that the more intimate and friendly their parents are with them, the more responsible and resourceful they are likely to become in their adulthood. On the other hand, after a certain age, children will be more exposed to other factors. For instance, the time when they start educating at school, interacting with their friends or after school when they surf on the internet, watch TV, and play video games. A prime example of friends affecting a child's behaviour is when they feel peer pressure or peer influence, when they have no choice but to accept smoking in early age only to be accepted among each other. In addition, a study by Allameh University on teenagers revealed the dangers of excessive playing of video games, making them more aggressive and bad-tempered. In conclusion, not only do offspring learn how to thrive through their families but also are exposed to the environment and the people or media surrounding them. I strongly believe that both of these factors can positively or negatively influence children's progress.