Some people think that art lessons, such as painting and drawing lessons, should be compulsory in secondary schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that Art lessons, such as painting and drawing should be a core subject in secondary school. I personally believe that Art helps youngsters to develop many skills which I will elaborate further in this essay. Firstly, in kindergarten, toddlers are not taught the alphabet as the first lesson, but they are rather taught art. They start drawing lines, shapes and colours as these developed their motor skills and creativity which will be helpful at a later stage in other subjects in high school and also in their professional career. Besides, Art is a part of history and through illustrations, children can visualise some scenes of their patrimony and it becomes easy for them to capture and memorise their notes. For example, the Dodo birds have become instinct in Mauritius and through drawings, children memorise more their lessons. Moreover, drawing is a therapy which helps young children to develop their imagination into reality in the form of sculpture, drawings and even more dramas. Nevertheless, Art means also performing on stage such as in dramas and sketches which at a younger stage helps young people to develop their communication skills, overcome shyness and finally, good presentation skills. In conclusion, Art contributes much more than academic subjects as they develop important skills which are more useful in the career world. Nonetheless, employers do not search only the academic skills but other talents that are creativity and presentation skills. So, I strongly believe that Art has an important role throughout all stages of the development of a student.