Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

With the increasing popularity of museums and art galleries, whether they should be free of charge or not has drawn much discussion amongst the general public. I believe that the merits of charging for entry outweigh the drawbacks. One of the cogent reasons for charging fees is that they can help pay for building and maintenance costs. This is because charging a reasonable entry fee, can help cover the cost incurred as a result of day-to-day activities such as utility bills, maintenance costs, renovation, and staff costs. If these costs were not covered the state of the facilities would deteriorate and be less attractive. An additional benefit of entrance fees is that they allow these places to buy new exhibits to attract more people. This means that the fees benefit museum attendees by constantly improving the quality of these places. Consequently, charging an admission fee seems very utilitarian to creating better museums and galleries. However, there are downsides associated with admission fees, one of which is that it may preclude some members of the community from entering the facilities. This is particularly the case for poor members of society who may be unable to afford the entry price. It seems a great pity if children and economically disadvantaged people are unable to benefit from the cultural experiences these venues provide. In conclusion, the benefits of an entry fee, in terms of funding maintenance and expansion surpass the downsides such as limited access for the poor. Furthermore, the risk to impoverished members of society can be mitigated by offering heavily discounted entry to them.