A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for research. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Animals are widely used by humans for different purposes at various times. It continues to be controversial if they should have right equality with man and their exploitations by individuals should cease. Although there are valid points to both views, I am of the opinion that it is fair to treat these lesser creatures the same way as homo sapiens. Enthusiatists of equal right among all creatures claim that lions, elephants, dogs have live as people do. They point out that these group also have the same composition of body system as individuals. These include the circulatory, respiratory, digestive and excretory system. These made them in no way below mankind and therefore, they should be treated in the same way human beings are treated. Additionally, it is believed that abuse of some creatures by persons affects them mentally and psychologically. For instance, reptiles, carnivores, herbivores amongst others kept in zoos are restricted from carrying out the daily activities they would perform in their natural habitats, they are fed on meals different from their natural diet and are made to exhibit behaviours abnormal to them so as to entertain tourists. A recent study shows that majority of mammals develop psychological problem when exposed to extreme conditions or torture which make them manifest behaviours such as agression, withdrawal to self and other harmful habits. Opponents of right equality point out that men and women have always used horses, camels, donkeys amongst others to satisfy their needs since the beginning of time. They are created lesser than people and therefore, they should be treated in such ways. Moreso, hunting and killing them is the source of livelihood for some societies. A recent survey carried out in the easthern part of Nigeria concluded that over 70% of the population are hunters and approximately 80% have bush meat as their only source of protein. Lastly, religiously, the christians believe that God commanded them to have dominion over all other living things. As a result, they have every right to use them as they see fit without any guilt. In conclusion, although there are advantages to employing animals to satisfy ones needs, regardless, these exploitation has caused a lot of negativities to the earth than its merits and these include certain species extinction and changing of the natural attitude of animals.