Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Technology has dramatically changed our lives in recent times. A number of people prefer the internet rather than print media and TV for the news around the world. I believe both have equal demand, and it depends upon an individual choice rather than a trend. To start with, reading the newspaper and watching TV are cheap resources to get yourself informed, whereas the lack of availability of internet in remote areas and its cost makes it miserable for the people to avail such facility. In addition, preferring print media tend to impart reading habits in people which is a valuable hobby as well. Furthermore, going through newspapers does not only improve reading skills but you also experience different schools of thought about a particular topic. Moreover, owing to a busy schedule, TV is a great opportunity to sit around and enjoy the programs together. For instance, a few years ago it was a popular trend in Asia, where people usually sit together at night and share dinner while enjoying their TV programs. However, the internet has ruined all those previous practices and revolutionized the entire media technology. With access to the internet, you don't need to wait for hours for listening to news bulletins as with just a click everything is in your range. Furthermore, a wide range of opinions and channels are available and you are not supposed to listen to a particular point of view or state-sponsored narratives. The advent of the internet has also played a crucial role in media independence. For example, in autocratic states where media is subjected to various restrictions, a plethora of journalists can have their own channels on YouTube and express their independent opinions. To sum up, the internet is a primary source of recent time to educate the masses without any wait, however often the quality of content is compromised. Meanwhile, print and other kinds of information resources are also striving hard to entertain their viewers and provide them with the cheapest resource for education.