In recent years,many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping Is this a positive or negative development

Nowadays, Most neighbourhood stores have been closed down due to the fact that shoppers prefer to go to bigger shopping markets and marts. I believe this is a positive development because more varieties can be obtained and the quality and originality can be ascertained. To begin with, There is a reduction of stress in using a big supermarket. Access to different brands and different shops compiled into one will save people the stress of moving from one place to the other. For example, ShopRite malls have a lot of stores that sell different things like baby bicycles and cars, television sets,food stores and other brands. Secondly, Due to the size of most of these superstores, companies usually supply things to them direct and in bulk,so purchasing fake products is minimal and prices more affordable. Furthermore, They are more organised, their large buildings usually contain proper waste removal systems and cleaning staff are mostly employed to make sure everywhere is neat and tidy unlike, their counterparts that do not consider environmental hygiene. For instance, a study conducted by a health department in South Africa revealed that most activities carried out by these smaller shops cause pollution to the environment. In conclusion, Recently smaller stores are closing down at a fast pace due to the fact that their consumers now frequent larger supermarkets for their daily purchases. I strongly feel this is a positive development because so many benefits are gained by its users.