Some people believe that children should spend all of their time with their family. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss the possible arguments on both sides, and say which side you personally support.

Family members are whom young individuals spent most of their time to be with at an early age, however, it indicates a decrease when they grow up. Some perspectives highly value the interaction between elderly and young people in a family, whilst I am in favour of young people making new friends to gain different experiences. To begin with, family members could provoke various positive impacts on young people regarding their behaviours and future careers. The proponents believe that youth who spent most of their time with family members will grow up to be useful people in society, due to influences in the family, along with it, support from well-experienced adults. For example, if a family consist of many members who are doctors, their descendants are more likely to go down the same path due to the influences in families, along with it, support from well-experienced adults. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks derived from such situations, such as a lack of independence, while elderly people will tackle the majority of domestic tasks for them. Take the younger generation in China as an example, due to the policy of birth control, most parents have only one child, who are overprotected and unable to take care of themselves, which become a serious social issue in the nation. On top of that, there are advantages for young people spending time with peers who have different backgrounds, since it could help them to be socialised and cultivates their altruism. Such as summer camps for teenagers in the USA, which aim for young individuals to form a positive personality at an early age. To summarise, it is true that children could learn various crucial skills from family members. However, the value of interacting with people outside the family should not be overlooked. In addition, too much time spent with parents could derive some drawbacks that cause bad influences on society. Therefore, in my perspective, it is not positive phenomena for underages stuck with family members for too long.