Mobile phones and smart devices should be restricted and that young people should not be allowed to have them. Only people of a certain age should have permission to own them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this proposal? What is your opinion?

It is undeniable that there are some drawbacks for children to own smartphones. However, it could be more valuable for the children such as in their educational purposes if it is well supervised and controlled. I agree with this suggested idea, that children should be restricted to have smartphones to ensure they utilise the benefits of smartphones. To begin with, there are various reasons why children should be restricted to own smartphones. In the first place, it assists children to concentrate on their studies for example instead of exploring social media they can review their subjects to achieve better marks. Secondly, it motivates children to have a conversation with their peers for instance by playing childhood games which require team collaboration rather than playing virtual games solely. Furthermore, it also can protect children's eyes from ultraviolet emissions from the smartphone screen, like when young people keep staring at smartphones screen for a long time it can have a detrimental impact on their physical health. On the other hand, preventing the possession of smartphones by children could also have negative consequences. Firstly, there could be troublesome for children to call their parents when they are in emergency situations. To illustrate, when they got lost or chased by someone. Additionally, lack of educational sources due to the variety of academic videos is available such as Youtube, Udemy and Udacity. Moreover, lose the central of e-learning played an important role after the COVID-19 pandemic to clarify the BlackBoard platform has been used by many universities and schools to submit homework. In conclusion, I believe that children should be restricted to have a smartphone to achieve the benefits of this technology.