Some people believe that the only purpose for anyone to learn a second language is to travel or work abroad. Others argue that this is not the only purpose why someone needs to learn a second language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Whereas several people believe that the only aim to learn other language are for working or travelling matters, another group think that there are multiple reasons to do it. It is true that one of the main purposes of learning a second tongue is to work or travel abroad, however, is not the only one. Many people have a cultural interest in learning a language, even entire societies use to learn second language at school for cultural reasons. This essay agrees with the second group mentioned, those who think that work and travel are not the only reasons. There is a reality, an important part of society is willing to learn a second tongue, only if is needed to work or travel abroad. Communities from countries such as the U.S. where people speak English as their mother tongue, are not interested in learning other languages, as they do not have the need. This is because these countries speak the international language for working and travelling, English. For instance, a recent research concluded that only 15% of the American people speak a second language, meanwhile, in Europe, most of people speak at least two or even three idioms. From another point of view, there are multiple people who think that the reasons mentioned above are not the only ones to learn a second language. This essay agrees with this group of people. The aim of learning a new tongue depends on the person who is learning, and the purpose could be more than work or travel abroad. For example, there are multiple cultures such us, Valencia in Spain, where the young children learn "Valenciano" at school, and the reasons are mainly cultural. To conclude, this essay believes that the reasons to learn a language are personal, and depend on the person who is learning.