There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, there are many countries where rampant housing shortages are commonplace. In this essay, I argue that this results in a host of societal issues, and that the government should try and alleviate this problem. Firstly, I argue that housing shortages result in lower economic growth. People who do not have homes are more likely to suffer from the anxiety of having to pay monthly rent, while homeless people would also be unable to get jobs. This is because for the former group, owning a house as a way of retiring is out of the question, while for the latter, most companies do not hire people who do not have a house. As a result, these people might turn to crime or other antisocial activities in order to survive. Hence, there are large sections of society that can be utilised, but are denied opportunities due to the housing crisis. Thus I argue that the government should step in and solve the problem. Although people might hold that this should be done by the private sector, I contend conversely that this would simply lead to individuals buying up houses and driving up housing shortages again. Therefore, the government should use taxpayer money to provide good and affordable housing. An example where this is already done is in Austria and Singapore, where citizens are virtually guaranteed a house by the government, with those who have money paying for private accommodation if they want. To conclude, I believe that there are many social costs to a lack of housing, and the government rather than corporate entities should step in. If authorities take action to plough ahead with this problem, citizens will definitely have many opportunities to raise their living standards.