In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This could be good for individuals but it may have negative concequences for society. What are the benefits and risks of people living till 150?

As the human race keeps evolving, it might theoretically be possible for us to live as long as 150 years and even more. While living longer can bring great individual prospects such as more time with your loved ones and to achieve success, it could also pose problems like rapid population growth for society. This essay will discuss the aforementioned benefits and risks involved with such a phenomenon. Life is a gift of nature and the majority of the populace would love to evade death for as long as possible. Firstly, it means people get to spend more quality time with their family and friends, which, I believe, is what life is all about. Secondly, many people live a gloomy, regrettable life owing to a variety of factors including poverty, wrong influence and depressing childhood. These people would essentially get a second chance at life to turn things around and achieve happiness. I know a person in my neighbourhood who wasted half of his life in drugs and he would not blink twice if given the choice to survive till 150. As such, these advantages seem fantastic from any person's perspective. However, a longer life might have detrimental effects on our society as a whole. Even today, Population is a progressively growing issue and a longer lifespan would certainly make matters much worse. The mortality rate would decrease significantly, causing a massive increase in the number of people which can lead to potential problems ranging from homelessness to scarcity of resources of food, water, and energy. India is already facing similar troubles due to high population density even when thousands migrate to other nations every year. For these reasons, the human race as a whole might suffer if given such a long life. As individuals, we would love to live forever. To summarize the consequences, while it would provide greater time to spend with family and to reach your goals, it can also lead to colossal failures in society. However, as always, humans will surely find an effective solution to balance out these effects.