In the future,people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen on day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up cash?

In some years, people would pay each other through other modes such as online payments or cards rather than using cash. In my opinion, this would happen because of the ease of carrying cards and online wallets. However, there might be a few illiterate individuals who would be disappointed, as they might find it difficult to use these other payment methods. The main reason why people would shift towards other mode of payment is, carrying these wallets and cards are effortless, compared to physical notes and coins. In other words, one has to keep numerous notes and coins in their pocket, whereas the same amount of money can be easily stored in their cards and online wallets. For example, if a person has to carry $100,000 in physical form then they would need a bag for it, at the same time it can be stored in a small card or even in their mobile. However, a few uneducated people would find it cumbersome to use these applications as they are not advanced in terms of using technology. This is because, many countries have a huge population who don’t know how to use mobile phones, and they don’t have bank accounts, this might lead to unfavourable situations for them. For instance, in India, almost 30 per cent of the population still doesn’t know how to use mobile phones, hence, they would not appreciate discontinuing physical cash. In conclusion, although using cards and payment wallets ease the carrying of money, if physical cash is fully discontinued then uneducated individuals could not be able to make payments