Why are mental health issues becoming more prevalent and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There is no doubt that high rates of mental health implications have recently been disturbing people’s lives. In this essay, I will discuss why this terrible trend has increased and propose some ways to mitigate it. Firstly, living an unbalanced work routine can be the main cause of psychological issues, especially in large cities. This is because urban costs are normally high, so people spend long hours doing extra shifts, leading them to exhaustion. For instance, recent medical research pointed out that 85% of the mental health issues identified last year had been caused by excessive work. To tackle this devastating matter, governments must create a more protective labour regulation, which applies sanctions to companies that allow employees to work more than 8 hours per day. As a result, these employers will follow this orientation and people will have healthier routines. Additionally, overusing technological gadgets, such as smartphones, computers and tablets, also contributes to mental health issues. This happens because these users spend much of their time on social media, watching digital influencers who pretend to have a perfect life online, and this costume may cause depression. For example, a famous psychologist has recently published an article explaining that the main reason for depression in teenagers is the excessive consumption of social media. In order to solve this problem, governments should develop advertising campaigns to aware people of the risks of this trend. Therefore, individuals who excessively use their smartphones will start to avoid this unhealthy habit. In conclusion, two of the main causes of mental health issues are excessive working routines and consumption of social media. However, these problems should be minimized if governments create new protective regulations and awareness campaigns.