As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In this modern era, the usage of cars has been increasing inevitably. Therefore, people prefer to have their own vehicle despite using cycles or public transport. However, cars tend to save more time and are convenient but these do lead to unnecessary congestion and pollution. Also, these vehicles exhaust natural resources and are harmful to the environment. This essay will reflect that there are more demerits in comparison to the merits of using four-wheelers. On the one hand, the evolution of cars has led to less waste of time and ease to travel long distances. For instance, earlier people used to commute on horses and cycles which disabled them to go on long trips and took more time. Certainly, this change to commuters has been more convenient as they could travel and explore more if they own a car. However, the number of car owners has elevated to a level that humans are now facing the problem of congestion on roads which eventually leads to a waste of hours. On the other hand, there are myriads of disadvantages to driving four-wheelers. Mainly, natural resources like petroleum are depleting rapidly which could cause the problem in future. Also, the noise and air pollution has increased leading to many health issues. For example, many people are suffering from respiratory diseases like asthma due to polluting cities. Certainly, this has caused disastrous consequences not only for human health but also for the environment. In conclusion, undoubtedly, the usage of such vehicles has more drawbacks as compared to the advantages. Globally, the increase in pollution has caused health issues for individuals. Moreover, the atmosphere on our planet is being affected as well.