It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views and give tour opinion

Nowadays, with the increasing proportion of violent crimes, the death penalty is seen as the most effective punishment to stop these heinous acts. On the other hand, some people believe that a life sentence is a better answer to stop these crimes. I would argue that a life sentence is a good prevention to isolate criminals from the rest of the community. However, it is of paramount importance to implement a death sentence to deter these crimes. To begin with, it is clear that any act of crime should be strictly punished. As a result, the death penalty can be given in case of heinous crimes like murder. This punishment is important to set an example to the rest of the community that killing someone is not disregarded. Furthermore, taking an innocent human life gives justice the authority to get the killer to go through the same pain. This will push others to respect and be afraid to commit such crimes because everyone should be held accountable for their actions. Despite the cruelness of their actions and the justice asking for a death row, it is necessary to be aware of the human nature that people can make mistakes. In other words, people may have killed someone by mistake or self-defence. For example, if a woman was about to be raped and she killed the other person, it will not be logical to kill her for the crime. Studies have shown that a lot of death row were injustice because of lack or falsely interpretation of evidence. Therefore it would be in the advantage of everyone to sentence the criminal with a life sentence. This will give the authorities more time to investigate the crime and the evidence. I personally believe that eventually, a death sentence is an effective way to stop such from happening. However, the context and circumstances of the crime should not be disregarded. Every situation as in every crime should be looked at differently. In conclusion, Both death row and life sentence are effective to address violent crimes. It is important to look at all the evidence before taking a step that can not be undone.