Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

There are contradictory views about genetic engineering. While this discovery contains some dangers, I believe it has been one of the most important developments of human beings ever. On the one hand, it is accepted that genetic modification shows some risks. Animals can be seen as the first victims of this advancement, as a lot of organizations have taken advantage of animals to be commodities to make more profit regardless of brutal and unethical actions. For example, chickens with four legs or totally lean pigs are the main material in food chains nowadays. In addition, genetic manipulation can create unexpected or harmful genetic changes, and even generate more new types of viruses. Furthermore, there is a lack of agreement among scientists about genetic utilization all over the world and every country has done research spontaneously. Therefore, if scientists abuse genetic mutation widely on human bodies, the consequences will be unpredictable. On the other hand, the rewards GM brings to humans are huge. This manipulation can create foodstuff with more desirable traits, and people have enjoyed more good-quality products as well as tastier and more nutritious cuisine. For example, dragon fruit with red flesh, seedless guava or potatoes that produce less of a cancer-causing substance when fried are all the results of DNA manipulation. In addition, GM makes food mass production faster, and this, therefore, reduces the living expenses for humans. More importantly, thanks to this breakthrough, a series of novel medicines have been introduced like vaccines, insulin or hormone treatments, and thus a lot of terminal diseases can be cured, and average longevity has been improved. In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of genetic modification in today’s life do outweigh the disadvantages.