In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Our children are surely the wheels of future. As responsible parents, it is our duty to guide them to be successful individuals not only materialistically, but also intellectually. The idea of motivating little ones by constantly telling them that by continuous hard work anything is possible can have both negative and positive impacts on them. These two aspects will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasonable conclusion. Firstly, in a world of endless possibilities, it is important for the younger ones to be raised ambitious and diligent as success won't follow laziness. For example, on watching interviews of those who achieved great things in life we can hear stories of sleepless nights and persistent hard work. Therefore, filling the minds of children with the idea of fighting until winning bears fruits later. Additionally, proper guidance from childhood itself lights their journey with motivation. Hence, it is clear that the message of persistent hard work has meritorious effects on children. Nevertheless, we cannot turn blind to the fact that in the midst of this race to prosper, the psychological and mental health of our little ones is in haste. For instance, nowadays we can see an increase in the number of news related to teenage suicides. Sadly, our teens find it very difficult to deal with failures in the pressurising society. Evidently, this is the reason why children should be taught that sometimes it is okay to accept setbacks and be who they are since life means more than that. So, it is clear that repeating the success mantra can have negative sides if they are fixed as the only motive of life. To summarize, repeated sayings of 'everything is possible' to our child alone will not do wonders. They must be firmly assured by elders that he/she will still be accepted and loved irrespective of their goal achievement.