In spite of technological developments in transportation, many people believe that a bicycle is the best way to reach in any destination. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a bicycle nowadays?

In this contemporary era, the transportation industry has progressed compared to past eras. However, there is a section of society that still believes that using a bicycle is beneficial. In this essay, we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of riding a bicycle in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence, the pros of using a cycle are there would be low pollution levels and less traffic congestion. To explicate, by riding a bicycle there would be no emission which could lead to pollution and people would breathe in clean air. In addition, noise pollution rates would decrease as there won’t be any honking which would not create a chaotic situation for the public. Moreover, if more people would adopt the habit of riding a cycle, then there will be no traffic which would benefit the public to a higher extent. For example, bicycles would take up less space for parking which would help in reducing congestion around roads and there would be fewer accidents as well. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates the benefits of a bike. On the flip side, the cons of riding a bicycle are safety issues and a longer time to reach a destination. To elaborate, it would take more time to cover short distances which would be faster in a car and individuals could get late if they have an important meeting or emergency. Furthermore, safety is not guaranteed even with proper protection and it would be risky to ride a bike in heavy traffic with fast-speeding buses and trucks. To exemplify, a person cannot take a sick person to the hospital as it would take forever to reach. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates the drawbacks of using a cycle. To conclude, the merits of using a cycle are less traffic and pollution which would help the public as they would not get prone to any diseases. However, the demerits are it would take extra time to reach the same place as compared to a car and safety is not guaranteed if any minor collision happens.