Some people say that the government should pay for free public libraries, while others think that it’s a waste of money, since modern technologies and the Internet allow easy access to resources from home. Discuss and give your point of view.

In our modern world, along with the advances in technology and the Internet, people nowadays can receive any piece of information they want through the Web at home. As a result, some claim that having libraries that are free to the public is unnecessary. I disagree with this opinion and believe that free public libraries should be preserved. In this essay, I will discuss both views on this topic and will further explain my opinion. Firstly, having a free educational source for everyone creates equal opportunity for the poor. Some families do not have the financial privilege to afford advanced electronic devices, such as computers, or even can't pay the Internet bill. This leads to many people spending their time in a public library in order to gain knowledge and study for school. For example, closing free-of-charge libraries will cause kids whose fortune is not in their favour fail school, which directly leads to not going to college and eventually unsuccessful job hunting. Consequently, preventing poor kids from library education is an unconscious discrimination in an unending circle where the unprivileged continue to be unprivileged. Moreover, no-charge libraries can reduce the number of underage drinking and smoking. Teenagers have a big amount of free time on their hands, although most cities do not have a variety of activities for young adults. This leaves youngsters with spare time and most of them are exposed to alcohol, cigarettes and illegal drugs. Studies have shown that having a space that is available for everyone, no matter what it is, will make people enter that place. That means that keeping public libraries free and open will not only decrease the number of illegal drinking but also gain youngsters great knowledge. Nevertheless, local citizens are concerned about their taxes going to nonvital institutes with no profit, such as public libraries, while other facilities need to be prioritized. An example of this issue is a mandatory place like a hospital that needs to go through construction in order to expand its capacity, while taxes are being paid to keep an outdated, useless building. In conclusion, although people's worries about taxes being spent poorly on free public libraries, I tend to concede and believe that library is also an important institute in each city, just as much as other vital places. In my view, the government should pay for free public libraries, based on financial and social reasons.