Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In these modern days, some people prefer watching movies on the screens of their phones and tablets rather than the screen of a cinema, while others say films should be seen in a cinema to completely enjoy them. In the essay below, I will debate both arguments as well as my point of view. On the one hand, watching films on personal gadgets such as phones has the option for people to watch in any situation. There is a lot of free time and conditions that people could fill by seeing the films. For example, many people spend a couple of hours commuting every single day by train or bus, the time suitable for watching a movie. Also, old film fans can download their popular movies and watch them whenever they want, no matter where they are. There is the chance to watch many brilliant films that were produced in the past which are not currently showing in the cinema anymore, are available simply by tapping on a tablet’s screen. On the other hand, seeing films in a cinema has some extraordinary features for audiences. The quality of the pictures, as well as the well-designed surrounding sound systems in the cinemas, makes them more enjoyable. To give a clear example, pictures with 3-dimensional features, give film fans an exceptional experience of watching films in the cinema. In addition, watching films in the cinema has an important positive impact on an individual’s relationships. For instance, families and friends can watch a movie in the cinema together to have fun and some amazing times. I would argue that both ways of watching the film individually on the phone or with friends or family, even alone in the cinema, have some merits and demerits depending entirely on the condition; moreover, due to our extremely busy lifestyle, watching films in our small gadgets are the more aligned option to our comfort. Laying on a comfortable sofa watching the favourite superstar and having a cup of tea at the same time, definitely is an acceptable temptation. In conclusion, I understand why people might want to watch movies in the cinema, but it seems to me that watching movies on phones and tablets is more desirable in these modern days.